Marvel Movies

You may not know it, but Marvel and stan lee movies have an order they should be watched in. Film release dates mean nothing in the Marvel Universe. They work well as stand alone films, but you will get more from them if you watch them in the right order. There are references to previous films in each one, like Easter eggs within the storyline or the set layout. This is not to say you cannot sit and watch all of the Iron Man films on a lazy Sunday if you want to, but why not make a full weekend of it and binge the Marvel movies in their entirety.

Chronological Order

  • Captain America: The First Avenger – released 2011

Although released 3 years after the first Iron Man film and a year after the second, if you want to follow the back story from beginning to end then this is where you start – this is where it all began.

  • Iron Man – Released 2008

The first in the Iron Man franchise, and the first film released as part of the Marvel Universe/Avengers series. Many people think that this is the movie to start with, but this picks up many years after Steve Rodgers (Captain America) came to be.

  • The Incredible Hulk – Released 2008

This Edward Norton incarnation is considered to be one of the better portrayals of the big green guy, and although he didn’t follow up his performance in later Marvel superhero films this is definitely a memorable one.

  • Iron Man 2 – Released 2010

Tony Stark is back, and now the whole world knows his identity.

  • Thor – Released 2011

Our first meeting with the Norse God, an arrogant and self-important being that becomes one of Earth’s (Midgard) most staunch defenders.

  • Avengers Assemble- Released 2012

The Avengers first group outing where we get to see a little more of Bullseye and the Black Widow.

  • Iron Man 3 – Released 2013

Another outing for Tony Stark, where everything changes for the billionaire.

  • Thor: The Dark World – Released 2013

The second of the Thor films sees him reunited with his beloved Jane, and of course the need to save the world again.

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Released 2014

We finally get back to the Steve Rodgers story, we see more of S.H.I.E.L.D. and Black Widow and we see his continuing struggle with modern life.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Released 2014

Some brand-new faces hit our screens with Guardians of the Galaxy, this time less superhero, more rag tag band of intergalactic criminals who together help save the universe.

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron – Released 2015

Our second group outing for the team. When a plan between Tony Stark and Bruce Banner goes predictably wrong, the Avengers need to work together to put it right.

  • Ant Man – Released 2015

This time our superhero comes in a small package. Another new face in the Marvel universe, Ant Man has a suit that shrinks him in size but increases his strength enabling him to save the world.

  • Captain America: Civil War – Released 2016

The third Captain America film sees a rift between Tony Stark and Steve Rodgers.

  • Doctor Strange – Released 2016

A superhero neurosurgeon gets sucked into the world of spiritual healing and mystic arts.

  • Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol 2. – Released 2017

Our favourite intergalactic criminals are back and as strong as ever.

  • Thor: Ragnarok – Released 2017

This time Thor is fighting to save his homeland.

Just Released and Post Production

  • Black Panther
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Ant Man and The Wasp
  • Captain Marvel

Bringing comic book heroes to life on the big screen has been profitable for all involved. With such a huge fan base already, prior to a screen play even being written, there could be nothing less than a box office smash.